//
hunted...
Miscellany

HUNTED: { Wedding Miscellany – The First Dance }

HUNTED: { Wedding Miscellany – The First Dance }

The first dance. The couples way of announcing that the wedding day is turning into night and that the dance floor is open for business. It’s a moment where stylish moves and slick couple choreography come into play … or more often, some awkward shuffling in a circle before you beg your guests to come join you.

Wedding First Dance

There are no absolute wrongs and rights for your first dance, but I do have some words of wisdom.

Firstly, pick your song carefully and be sure to read the lyrics. You may love Eric Clapton’s “tears in heaven” but the words are about death and hardly be-fitting the mood of a wedding.

Secondly know your dancing history and capabilities. If both of you have always been keen dancers, great, why not beef up this part and put on a little show? If you’re both complete un-co’s, for everyone’s sake, don’t try to recreate the Dirty Dancing YouTube phenomenon. Your guests will laugh for all the wrong reasons. But who am I to judge, this may be exactly what you are after.

If you feel you could use a little professional practice session before the moment there are people out there to give you a helping hand. Nicki at wedding-dance.co.uk for example can tailor plans to range from 1 session for the two of you, to multiple sessions including group choreography. Then, you just need to make sure someone has their video camera good and ready to capture your best moves.

My Top 10 Best Wedding First Dance Songs

1. “In My Life” by The Beatles (A gorgeous melody although slow to dance to – “In my life I love you more”)

2. “Your Song” by Elton John (Also a big fan of the Ellie Goulding version – “I hope you don’t mind that I put down in words; How wonderful life is now you’re in the world”)

3. “Stand By Me” by Ben E King (Unbeatable lyrically – “I won’t be afraid; Just as long as you stand by me)

4. “Wonderwall” by Oasis (If you’d like to go BritPop – “I don’t believe that anybody, Feels the way I do about you now”)

5. “At Last” by Etta James (A slow, bluesy classic with simple romantic lyrics – “At last my love has come along; My lonely days are over; And life is like a song)

6. “If I Ain’t Got You” by Alicia Keys (Nice tempo to dance to, worthy lyrics – “Hand me the world on a silver platter; And what good would it be; With no-one to share”)

7. “The Only Exception” by Paramore (A little sombre in some parts but a beautiful sentiment – “You are the only exception …”)

8. “Then” by Brad Paisley (If you like a bit of country – “And now you’re my whole life, now you’re my whole world”)

9. “Can’t Help Falling in Love” by Elvis Presley (Another all-time great from The King – “Take my hand; take my whole life too)

10. “Just the Way You Are” by Bruno Mars (Anyone who insists – “You’re amazing; Just the way you are” makes the top 10)

My Top 10 Worst Wedding First Dance Songs

1. “Every Breath You Take” by Sting & The Police (The lyrics are about stalking) 

2. “Wherever You Will Go” by The Calling (Lost love plus undertones of stalking again)

3. “Always” bu Bon Jovi (About a romance that’s most definitely over)

4. “I would do Anything for Love (but I won’t do that)” by Meatloaf (About 18 hours long and lyrically not appropriate – what is it you won’t do Mr Meatloaf?)

5. “I’ll Make Love to You” by Boyz II Men (Best left to the bedroom if you have to play it at all)

6. “Tears in Heaven” by Eric Clapton (As mentioned above, it’s about death)

7. “Wicked Game” by Chris Isaak (About painfully losing someone)

8. “Eternal Flame” by The Bangles (Terrible song, and over-possessive lyrics about watching someone when they’re sleeping)

9. “Lady in Red” by Chris de Burgh (For one, the lady is probably in white / ivory plus the song is nauseating)

10. “Smack My Bitch Up” by The Prodigy (self-explanatory, no?)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

The Wedding First Dance : you have been hunted

What are your plans for your first dance?

Are you going to choreograph something?

And do you agree with my best and worst song choices?

Your comments are always welcomed below

About theweddinghunter

Hunting weddings since 2011

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

theweddinghunter

